It is quite common to explore the Hawaiian Islands on your own, driving directly to wherever you want. Near every airport you find car rental agencies where you pick-up your car and drop it off. For cruise ship passengers it’s a good way as well if they have some time and want to explore the island. When you start planning your visit to Hawaii, you should plan your driving needs as well. It is very convenient and gives you much flexibility in spending your vacation to drive a car on your own.
When renting a car you must have a valid driver’s license. Please check, if the license you have is accepted by US authorities. Since Hawaii is the 50th federal state of the USA, US-law and rules apply. For some countries it’s necessary to get an “international driver’s license” (kind of additional paper to your national driver’s license). This bureaucratic act can take some weeks, so you should start at least two months in advance.
Not only the renter must have a valid driver’s license, but any driver who will drive the car during the rental period. Be sure to state all drivers when picking up the car. Any person driving the car who is not mentioned in the rental contract violates the rental terms and conditions, this revokes your insurance. When booking a car through our service, you should state the actual number of drivers as well to get a correct estimate.
You can usually name a second driver without additional fees. If you book our package deal, a third one will be free as well. For every additional driver the rental agency charges a general fee or additional per-day-rate. We advise you to actually name all drivers, since it can cause you big trouble if someone drives your car who is not stated in your rental contract. If you travel in a group you should agree beforehand, who will drive the car.
The rental agencies charge a special fee for drivers below the age of 25 years. If you book through us at Thrifty or Dollar this additional rate for each driver under 25 is $10 per day — instead of the usual $25 per day. The treatment of underage drivers is independent of how old the driver’s license is or how much driving experience the driver has. If the person is under 25 years old and wants to drive, then the underage driver’s rule applies. Please note, that mentioned rates or fees are before taxes.
Yes, but there may be an additional Young Driver Charge of $25.00 + tax per day in addition to the full price. We have a great discounted “young driver” Rate with Thrifty and Dollar. The price is only $10 per day (on selected rates).
No. Book the car with our discounted Thrifty or Dollar rate (only $10 per day). You have to book the deals with 2 additional drivers included in order to qualify for the $10 per day “young drivers fee”. Otherwise you are gong to pay $25 per day.
Charges for additional driver (over 25 years old) with Basic Insurance Deal:
Our “package deals” include up to three additional drivers per day.